Logo for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).  National Collegiate Athletic Association


The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) is a member-led organization dedicated to the well-being and lifelong success of college athletes.  Nearly half a million college athletes make up the 19,886 teams that send more than 57,661 participants to compete each year in the NCAA's 90 championships in 24 sports across 3 divisions.1 

Map of the United States of America with the college football sports logo representing each state.


Three Divisions of the NCAA

Division I:   Generally have more students and larger athletic departments. Schools in this division can give athletic scholarships.
Division II:   Emphasize a life balance in which academically and athletically gifted students can compete at a high level. This division can give athletic scholarships.
Division III:   Academics are the primary focus. The sports seasons are shorter reducing time away from academic studies and other campus activities. This division cannot give athletic scholarships.







NCAA Division Eligibility Information

NCAA Eligibility Center
College Bound Student-Athlete Guide   DI & DII GPA Worksheet
NCAA Eligibility Checklist   Student-Athlete & College Athletics Presentation   COVID 19 Fall 2021 (Update)

1 (February 10, 2020). What is the NCAA?. 4-5-2021, from
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.